Many cards have straight forward effects and activation conditions, and the interactions between two players can flow very smoothly in line with Konami’s official flowchart. However, there exist many exceptions whose card text is sufficiently vague that even experienced duelists can struggle without a ruling consultation. This section will catalogue those cards and relevant interactions which are not immediately obvious, as well as link to resources to better understand the underlying game mechanics. Many individual card rulings established under Upper Deck Entertainment’s management of the game can be found here. See the article “Simultaneous Effects Go On Chain”(SEGOC) for clarification regarding multiple Effects activating simultaneously. Individual cards catalogued herein are listed below and can be searched for via "Ctrl + F". Missing the Timing and Illegal Activation Certain cards and effects possess particular activation timing / Trigger conditions which restrict when they may be played. Such cards may only be activated in response to a specific event, and thus can be obstructed by methodical construction of Chain Links. Effects which CAN miss the timing are Optional Trigger Effects on Monster Cards, these effects follow a “When… you can…” structure. Mandatory Trigger Effects, and Optional “If… you can…” Effects will not miss the timing and will activate in a new chain, whether or not their trigger condition was the last thing to happen. There are some instances in which cards may not legally be activated as their trigger condition was not actually the last thing to happen (i.e. Bottomless Trap Hole vs. Drill Warrior’s effect to special summon itself) as a result of the textual conjunctives used in the card effect (see Conjunctives section of this page). Trigger-like and Ignition-like Effects of Continuous Trap / Spell Cards Trigger-like Effects of Continuous Spells / Traps may be activated along with the activation of the Spell/Trap itself when its Trigger condition has been met, or whenever its Trigger condition is met while it is face-up on the field. You may not activate the Trigger-like Effect or a Continuous Spell/Trap Card later in the same Chain as the card’s activation, this is because it has not yet successfully resolved. For additional clarification, please refer to the entry on Trigger-like Effects here. Continuous Trap Cards Treated as Monsters Often referred to as Trap Monsters, Continuous Traps which Special Summon themselves occupy BOTH a Spell Card / Trap Card Zone and a Monster Card Zone. Additionally, a Trap Monster targeted by Book of Moon will be set to the Spell Card / Trap Card Zone and cannot be activated the remainder of that turn (as this is treated as being the turn in which it was set). For additional clarification, please refer to the Yugipedia entry on Trap Monsters here. Individual Card Rulings Blackwing – Gale the Whirlwind
0 Comments
Leave a Reply. |
Archives |